10 - 18 November 2017
Bath City
Takács Quartet with Louise Williams – Friday 10th November 8:00pm at the Assembly Rooms (NB start time)

Takács Quartet

Louise Williams

Takács Quartet:
Edward Dusinberre
Károly Schranz violin
Geraldine Walther viola
András Fejér cello

Louise Williams viola

Mozart – String Quartet in D major K 575
Beethoven – String Quartet in B flat major Op 18 No 6
Mendelssohn – String Quintet No 2 in B flat major Op 87

The internationally celebrated Takács Quartet opens this year’s Mozartfest with music by Mozart himself: one of his masterly “Prussian” Quartets, written for the court quartet of the cello-playing King of Prussia. This is followed by an early Beethoven quartet notable for the finale’s thoughtful slow introduction, headed “La Malinconia” or “Melancholy”. After the interval, the Quartet is joined by violist Louise Williams for Mendelssohn’s Second Quintet, a work of flowing invention crowned by a passionate slow movement.

Tickets: £32 £26£18£12
Box Office: 01225 463362
Event Code MF 1

Supported by Susan Foster in memory of her husband Bryan




Bath Mozartfest Office, 4 Beau Street, Bath BA1 1QY. Tel: 01225 429750. Bath Mozartfest registered charity number: 1040455. Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.